Review: What Happens in Scotland by Jennifer McQuiston

Posted May 6th, 2013 by in 2013 Read, 3.50 Wine Glasses, Reviews / 15 comments

Divider
Review: What Happens in Scotland by Jennifer McQuistonSource: BookClub Purchase, Kindle Purchase

What Happens in Scotland by Jennifer McQuiston


Date Read: May 2013

Goodreads

Jennifer McQuiston’s debut historical romance, What Happens in Scotland, is a lively, romantic adventure about a wedding that neither the bride or the groom remembers.

Lady Georgette Thorold has always been wary of marriage, so when she wakes up next to an attractive Scotsman with a wedding ring on her finger, it’s easy to understand why she panics and flees. Convinced that Georgette is a thief, her may-be husband, James McKenzie, searches for her. As both try to recall what happened that fateful night, they begin to realize that their attraction and desire for each other is undeniable. But is it enough?

Fans of Sarah MacLean and Mary Balogh will enjoy this utterly charming historical romance from award-winning author Jennifer McQuiston that features unforgettable characters and a satisfying mix of adventure and passion.

More Information:
Publisher: Avon

My Thoughts on  What Happens in Scotland by Jennifer McQuiston

 

Read from April 29 to May 05, 2013

Read for BookClub (Kindle)(DFWTea/The Cover Girls)
Overall Rating: 3.50
Story Rating: 3.00
Character Rating: 4.00

First Thought When Finished: That was a laugh out loud romp that was super cute. The “love” was a little rushed for my taste but the characters were fantastic!

Story Thoughts: The humor of What Happens in Scotland kept me in stitches during the hijinks that were done by Lady Georgette Thorold. The story takes place over a 24 hour period which is a very short time. I am going to admit that this is probably what kept me from loving it. I am not a fan of insta-love but with humor that was done excellently, it was easy to forget the short time frame at times. My suggestion, just get lost in the hijinks and try to ignore the timeline.

Character Thoughts: I think Jennifer McQuiston has written the most awesome kick butt characters from leads to sides! Georgette and James were both strong, fun, and full of gumption characters. However, it was the side characters of the used to be prostitute ladies maid, the butcher who refuses to serve horse meat and likes to give kittens as thank yous, and the rakishly handsome former best friend sheriff that really stole the show. I was in stitches as this unusual group of characters managed to find out what happened on the night where “memories” were a little fuzzy!

Final Thoughts: I love Jennifer McQuiston’s humor and character development. I think the 2nd book in the series will be a hoot!

Read for DFWTea please go check them out by clicking on the graphic or visiting http://www.meetup.com/dfwtea

Read for DFWTea please go check them out by visiting http://www.meetup.com/dfwtea and Read for Cover Girls Bookclub. Please go check them out by going to http://covergirlsbookclub.wordpress.com/

One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Felicia S
Follow Me

Felicia S

Felicia is just your average gal from Texas that loves Audiobooks and Libraries with a passion! She can wine them, dine them, and love them forever. Her eclectic reading tastes include: Cozy Mysteries, Thrillers, Swoon-Worthy Romance of all kinds, Zombies, Urban Fantasy, Historical Fiction, and the occasional YA read.

During her non-reading time you can find her hanging with her rescue furr children named after book characters: Lizzie a beautiful cattle dog mix (Pound Pup), Cinder a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Pound Pup), and Minerva a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Foster Fail). Gathering with friends and family, attending conventions, watching movies/tv shows, rooting for the 49rs, and crocheting.

If you want to follow her DIY, Health, and Life adventures check out Mess to Best

My Google Profile
Felicia S
Follow Me
Audiobook Review: Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris
Review: Iced Chiffon by Duffy Brown
Divider

15 Responses to “Review: What Happens in Scotland by Jennifer McQuiston”

  1. Kristin
    Twitter:

    Ya know, from the cover, I would not thing this was a fun, quirky read with butchers who give kittens as “thank yous”!!! Between all these awesome historicals you and Ms. Kimba read/listen to, you’d think I would have jumped on one already! Crap!!! I need more time to read!!!!! I tried listening but it doesn’t fit in my life – pish!

    I love your reviews so much!! They’re are so quick, fun and to the point. I’m going to have to re-vamp the way I write my reviews so I can be as good as you πŸ˜‰ Scratch the puppies for me!!!!
    Kristin recently posted…Review and Giveaway: Full of Grace by Misty Provencher

    • Felicia S. (

      You are a goof! I am probably the worst review writer out there but to be honest the style works for me. I wish I was eloquent πŸ™‚

      There is something about historicals in the spring time–they just feel right. πŸ™‚

      The pups are snoring right now because they got me up. I swear I need to make them go to work one day so they get 3am is not appropriate “awake” time LOL

      (They are being super cute though and laying together awww)

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge