Snagged @ The Library Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Posted September 15th, 2014 by in 2014 Read, 4.00 Wine Glasses, Reviews, Snagged @ The Library / 17 comments

Divider
Snagged @ The Library Review: Uninvited by Sophie JordanSource: Library Borrowed

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan


Date Read: April 2014

Goodreads

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

More Information:
Publisher: HarperTeen
Series: Uninvited #1


Also by this author: A Good Debutante's Guide to Ruin, An Heiress For All Seasons, All the Ways to Ruin a Rogue, All Chained Up

Snagged at the Library Review

 

JUST A NOTE: These are books that I have Snagged @ The Library . Some of the reviews will be long and others will just be quick thoughts on the story.

Read for Fun (Library)
Overall Rating: 4.00
Story Rating: 4.25
Character Rating: 3.75

First Thought when Finished: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan really surprised me in a good way!

Story Thoughts: To be honest, I wasn’t sure for the first 1/3 if I was going to get into this story. The whole “scarlett letter” a group of people because they carry a gene seemed far fetched to me. However, as the story progressed and the world was built, I could see where that type of “mob” mentality really could cause that kind of “panic”. I liked how Sophie immersed us enough into the world that we could see both sides of the coin even if we didn’t buy the reasoning.

Character Thoughts: Overall while I really felt for Davy, I didn’t start liking her till almost the end of the book. I did like her brother. I did like Sean. I did like some of the other HTC carriers but she just never really “pulled” at my “love this character” strings. I am curious about where she goes from here though so I will be getting the second in the series.

Final Thoughts: Overall an interesting look at what could happen if too much science and too much fear rule.

 

 

FTC Disclosure

 

Overall Rating
4 / 5
Story Rating
4 / 5
Character Rating
4 / 5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Felicia S
Follow Me

Felicia S

Felicia is just your average gal from Texas that loves Audiobooks and Libraries with a passion! She can wine them, dine them, and love them forever. Her eclectic reading tastes include: Cozy Mysteries, Thrillers, Swoon-Worthy Romance of all kinds, Zombies, Urban Fantasy, Historical Fiction, and the occasional YA read.

During her non-reading time you can find her hanging with her rescue furr children named after book characters: Lizzie a beautiful cattle dog mix (Pound Pup), Cinder a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Pound Pup), and Minerva a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Foster Fail). Gathering with friends and family, attending conventions, watching movies/tv shows, rooting for the 49rs, and crocheting.

If you want to follow her DIY, Health, and Life adventures check out Mess to Best

My Google Profile
Felicia S
Follow Me
Snagged @ The Library Review: Defiant by Pamela Clare
#LoveMyLibraryCard Guest Post: Libraries Are Good For The Nomad's Soul
Divider

17 Responses to “Snagged @ The Library Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan”

  1. Jennifer @ BookShelfery

    I agree that Davy wasn’t a strong character but I suspect it was on purpose (or hope so) with the idea that she will grow in the series. The whole Scarlet Letter trope really appealed to me, though. I don’t know why, I just loved it (I also loved the Scarlet Letter LOL).

    I, for one, am shocked you read a HARDBACK and it was YA!

  2. Kristin @ My ParaHangover
    Twitter:

    Hmmm, I love Sophie, I love the idea… I still have the book to read but you sound kind of “meh” about the whole thing. Kind of like you need the next book to see where she takes you and all that 🙂

    I’ll read it to see what I think… I’ve really got to get on it!!! BTW, I love short and sweet reviews! I just can’t seem to write them 🙁

    • Felicia S

      Lately it has been write short reviews or no reviews. I really have been in a review writing funk! TOTAL FUNK!

      I loved the science behind this one but the characters needed some growth. I am counting down to the next one because I seriously think it is like an ID show except that we get to run a long with the “criminals” and see their process. I am twisted. I get that LOL

    • Felicia S

      Yes it was! Everything about pre-judging is unfair. Especially based on something that you have no control over: genetics. I thought Sophie handled that well. The characters need some growth but in this case it wasn’t a distraction for me .

    • Felicia S

      The science is not overwhelming (in fact, I probably wanted more of the science but you know I am a freak) and right now scientist are researching whether there is a murder gene (scary huh?)

    • Felicia S

      The characters were the weakest part of this story. I was a little caught up in the science and injustice so I will be continuing mostly because where do people escape to now that the science is out? 🙂 It is like an ongoing Investigation Discovery show LOL

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge