Audiobook Review: The Ex by Alafair Burke

Posted February 19, 2016 by Felicia S in 2016 Read, 3.50 Wine Glasses, Audiobook, Reviews / 2 Comments

Divider
Audiobook Review: The Ex by Alafair BurkeSource: Audiobook Purchase

Format: Audiobook
The Ex by Alafair Burke
Narrator: Xe Sands
Length: 7 hrs and 43 mins


Date Read: January 2016

Genre: Legal Thriller, Thriller
Goodreads

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder—but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.

Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night’s party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That’s when Jack’s world falls apart.

 Olivia Randall is one of New York City’s best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide—and that one of the victims was connected to his wife’s murder—there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him—and why?

 For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

More Information:
Publisher: Harper

Also by this author: The Cinderella Murder

My-Thoughts

Listened for Fun (Audible)
Overall Rating: 3.50
Story Rating: 3.75
Character Rating: 3.25

Audio Rating: 4.50 (not part of the overall rating)

First Thought when Finished: The Ex was a solid mystery with great pacing.

Quick Thoughts: While this was not my favorite Alafair Burke novel, it was still a pretty darn good read. The only thing I was lacking was in the character department. I didn’t need to like any of them but I did need to “attach” (for lack of a better word) to one of the leads. I either need to think one is beyond clever, a total schemer, or something like that. I just didn’t get that here. I think most mystery readers will figure out the case but that doesn’t take away from the enjoyment. It was good to watch it all play out and the end was oddly appropriate! Overall a good solid read!

Audio Thoughts:

Narrated By Xe Sands / Length: 7 hrs and 43 mins


XE did a great job of bringing the 3 main characters to life in this audiobook. I think her narration made me attach more than I would have otherwise. She played it with just the right amount of definition to each of them. Great Job!

Part of my Read It, Rate It, File It, DONE! Reviews

 

Recommended

FTC Disclosure

 

Overall Rating
3.5 / 5
Story Rating
3.5 / 5
Character Rating
3.5 / 5
Narrator Rating
4.5 / 5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Felicia S
Follow Me

Felicia S

Felicia is just your average gal from Texas that loves Audiobooks and Libraries with a passion! She can wine them, dine them, and love them forever. Her eclectic reading tastes include: Cozy Mysteries, Thrillers, Swoon-Worthy Romance of all kinds, Zombies, Urban Fantasy, Historical Fiction, and the occasional YA read.

During her non-reading time you can find her hanging with her rescue furr children named after book characters: Lizzie a beautiful cattle dog mix (Pound Pup), Cinder a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Pound Pup), and Minerva a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Foster Fail). Gathering with friends and family, attending conventions, watching movies/tv shows, rooting for the 49rs, and crocheting.

If you want to follow her DIY, Health, and Life adventures check out Mess to Best

My Google Profile
Felicia S
Follow Me

What are your thoughts?

2 responses to “Audiobook Review: The Ex by Alafair Burke

    • I hate when they compare them. Drives me nuts and does the book no service. This was really good but not like either of those books. I liked it more than those two LOL