Review: Stolen by Shiloh Walker

Posted November 1st, 2012 by in 2012 Read, 3.50 Wine Glasses, Reviews / 16 comments

Divider
Review: Stolen by Shiloh WalkerSource: Edelweiss EBook Review

Format: eARC
Stolen by Shiloh Walker


Date Read: October 2012

Genre: Romance, Suspense
Goodreads

This thrilling and super sexy novel from bestselling romantic suspense author Shiloh Walker will appeal to fans of Allison Brennan and Linda Howard. 

Shay Morgan has stayed hidden for a long time. Living a reclusive life in Earth’s End, Alaska, she’s as far away as she can get from the trauma of her childhood and the man who hurt her long ago. But terror takes over Shay’s life yet again when an unknown stalker steals away the fragile peace she’s built for herself—targeting not only her but the one man who’s ever managed to get past the walls she’s built around herself.   Elliot Winter has lived through being falsely accused before—it ruined his military career. Now it’s happening all over again. And this time, his accuser is a twisted impostor who’s targeting his ex-girlfriend, Shay. Despite a fierce mutual attraction, Shay and Elliot broke up because Shay couldn’t let her guard down, couldn’t let Elliot in. But now they both need to trust each other to confront a psycho who seems to know all their secrets.

More Information:
Publisher: Ballantine Books

Review: Stolen by Shiloh Walker
Read for Review (Edelweiss)
Overall Rating: 3.50
Story Rating: 3.00
Character Rating: 4.00

Fall Funk Reviews (Quick and Dirty because I am in a Review Writing Funk)

First Thought When Finished: Stolen started off very strong but kind of lost its way towards the end.

What I Thought of the Story: Stolen has a fantastic premise and the first half delivers. I was totally sucked in and couldn’t wait to see how it unfolded. Unfortunately about half way through the story lost its gusto and just didn’t quite live up to the first half. Shiloh Walker is an outstanding writer so even though the story was lacking something at the end, her writing was spot-on and engaging. It is hard for me to put into words what didn’t work for me without spoilers (which I won’t give).

What I Thought of the Characters: Shay, Elliot, and the setting of Alaska were perfect for this story. Shay was a sympathetic character and while I never “loved” her, I felt for her. Elliot was the kind of hero that you want to fix and make life better for. I love stories set in Alaska so Shiloh totally won me over with the setting.

Final Thought: Stolen will work better for some readers more than it worked for me. My problem with the storyline is very “reader”-centric (meaning specific to me). The writing was excellent, engaging, and smart.

Recommended

FTC Disclosure

Overall Rating
3.5 / 5
Story Rating
3 / 5
Character Rating
4 / 5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Felicia S
Follow Me

Felicia S

Felicia is just your average gal from Texas that loves Audiobooks and Libraries with a passion! She can wine them, dine them, and love them forever. Her eclectic reading tastes include: Cozy Mysteries, Thrillers, Swoon-Worthy Romance of all kinds, Zombies, Urban Fantasy, Historical Fiction, and the occasional YA read.

During her non-reading time you can find her hanging with her rescue furr children named after book characters: Lizzie a beautiful cattle dog mix (Pound Pup), Cinder a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Pound Pup), and Minerva a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Foster Fail). Gathering with friends and family, attending conventions, watching movies/tv shows, rooting for the 49rs, and crocheting.

If you want to follow her DIY, Health, and Life adventures check out Mess to Best

My Google Profile
Felicia S
Follow Me
#30DaysofThanks2012 #1: Melissa Schroeder and Simply Ali
Review: Deadly Politics by Maggie Sefton
Divider

16 Responses to “Review: Stolen by Shiloh Walker”

  1. Tina Wheatley

    Wow I just bought this book on Tuesday. I too love books set in Alaska. I look forward to reading this book to see if we agree. I hope I get to see you next week at Ritas.

  2. Jenny
    Twitter:

    It’s always so disappointing when a book starts out really strong and you’re like “this is going to be so good!” and then it seems like as soon as you think that, you jinx it, and the story starts to unravel a bit. Still, I’ve heard great things about Shiloh Walker, so even an okay second half I’m sure is entertaining:) And I want to know what broke the story for you!

    • Felicia
      Twitter:

      Oh she is an EXCELLENT writer and storyteller. This one isn’t part of one of her series, more of a stand alone (though I do think there is more story to tell there if she wants). I think with me it was more of a character (on particular) just acting differently than I thought she would in a situation. It just seemed contrary to what I envisioned, however I can see her doing what she did also now that it has been awhile since I have read it. Right there in the moment though it just didn’t jive for me. (I have talked to others that have read it and they loved the very thing I didn’t).

    • Felicia
      Twitter:

      The element that didn’t work for me will work very well for others. It was just once it happened the story kind of fell flat for me. I talked to someone else who read it and they loved the very thing that I didn’t! I love that about books—such individual experiences while reading 🙂

    • Felicia
      Twitter:

      Yes! She is an excellent writer and story teller! Her Ash Series:
      If You Hear Her
      If You See Her
      If You Know Her

      is an awesome Suspense/Romance (backwards because the suspense is really really good) series.

  3. Mary
    Twitter:

    Darn. This one sounded like it had real potential. Maybe she’s writing *too* much, cranking the books out too fast? I wonder, because she usually does deliver.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge