Audiobook Review: Siege by Rhiannon Frater

Posted April 3rd, 2014 by in 2014 Read, 5 Wine Glasses, Audiobook, Reviews / 8 comments

Divider
Audiobook Review: Siege by Rhiannon FraterSource: Audiobook Review, Kindle Purchase, Physical Book Purchase, Provided by Brilliance

Format: Audiobook
Siege by Rhiannon Frater
Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Length: 12 hrs and 47 mins


Date Read: February 2014

Genre: Horror, Zombie
Goodreads

Siege is the conclusion to Rhiannon Frater’s As the World Dies trilogy, which should appeal to fans of The Walking Dead. Both The First Days and Fighting to Survive won the Dead Letter Award from Mail Order Zombie. The First Days was named one of the Best Zombie Books of the Decade by the Harrisburg Book Examiner.

The zombie illness has shattered civilization. The survivors who have found tenuous safety in Texas defend their fort against the walking dead and living bandits.

Katie has made peace with the death of her wife and is pregnant and married to Travis, who has been elected Mayor. Jenni, her stepson, Jason; and Juan—Travis’s righthand man—are a happy family, though Jenni suffers from PTSD. Both women are deadly zombie killers. In Siege, the people of Ashley Oaks are stunned to discover that the vice president of the United States is alive and commanding the remnants of the US military. What’s left of the US government has plans for this group of determined survivors.

More Information:
Publisher: Brilliance Audio, Tor
Series: As The World Dies #3


Also by this author: The First Days, Fighting to Survive, Dead Spots
Also in this series: The First Days, Fighting to Survive

My-Thoughts

Listened to the audio for the first time/Reread of the Story. I have updated my review with audio thoughts and 2nd time reading thoughts!

Read for Fun/Listened for Review (Kindle/Brilliance)
Overall Rating: 5+
Story Rating: 5+
Character Rating: 5+

Audio Rating: 4.50 (not part of the overall rating)

First Thought when Finished: Siege by Rhiannon Frater gutted me even the 2nd time around and I knew what was coming. These characters y’all! These characters!

Original Review

NOTE: I feel the need to start my review with a note this time. I have read (and rated) 468 books and have only given 40–5 star ratings. Both The First Days and Siege got 5’s from me. I can not stress how well written, brilliantly executed, and boldly told this series is. You must read it even if you don’t like zombies. It is a story of humanity, heartbreak, and hope!

Updated Note I have now read 903 and have only given 69 5 Star Ratings. This is one of only a few series that has more than one book with a 5 in it. Seriously folks, it is just that good!

First Thought when Finished: That is a way to end a trilogy!

What I Loved: When a series comes to an end, I look for 2 things: closure and hope. As a reader, I need to feel closure for both the characters and myself. I need to know that this particular phase (emotional, physical, challenge) has been met and that the characters are off to face a new phase in their lives. I also need hope. I need to feel like their world goes on and that they embrace the life that they have been given. That this life (yes I realize it is fictional) they have is worth fighting for and the future (no matter how bleak) holds hope for a better tomorrow with loved ones. These key elements allow me to feel that I was lucky to have shared this part of the characters journey and for now we part ways. Rhiannon Frater managed to break my heart, sew it back together, scare me to death, and finally leave me with hope that these characters that I have come to love would move on from now and into the future! I could not ask for more from a story than what I was given in Siege. It was a very fitting end to what will be one of my favorite trilogies EVER!

What I Liked: My favorite thing about Rhiannon’s writing (both series that I have read) is her ability to create complex characters in all shades of grey. However, with this series it was her ability to build a world that was compelling and believable. It is not often that you get both compelling characters and a world that almost counts as a character all its own!

Updated Review

Audio Thoughts:

Narrated By Cassandra Campbell / Length: 12 hrs and 47 mins

By the end of the series, Cassandra was dead on with the characters. I think more than that, she got the emotion and pacing right. I am really glad that I gave the series a chance on audio. It was a good choice!

Final Thought: Both The First Days and Siege received 5’s from me. I stand behind those ratings 110% and recommend these books to anyone who enjoys a really good story told with a ton of courage and alright just a bit of gore (really there is gore–I have to mention it LOL)! Get thee to the bookstore! You won’t be sorry!

PS: I am not leaving out Fighting to Survive–I gave it a 4.75! This is probably the highest rated series (outside Harry Potter) that I have given. Truly it was just brilliant!

 

FTC Disclosure

 

Overall Rating
5 / 5
Story Rating
5 / 5
Character Rating
5 / 5
Narrator Rating
4.5 / 5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Felicia S
Follow Me

Felicia S

Felicia is just your average gal from Texas that loves Audiobooks and Libraries with a passion! She can wine them, dine them, and love them forever. Her eclectic reading tastes include: Cozy Mysteries, Thrillers, Swoon-Worthy Romance of all kinds, Zombies, Urban Fantasy, Historical Fiction, and the occasional YA read.

During her non-reading time you can find her hanging with her rescue furr children named after book characters: Lizzie a beautiful cattle dog mix (Pound Pup), Cinder a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Pound Pup), and Minerva a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Foster Fail). Gathering with friends and family, attending conventions, watching movies/tv shows, rooting for the 49rs, and crocheting.

If you want to follow her DIY, Health, and Life adventures check out Mess to Best

My Google Profile
Felicia S
Follow Me
Book Blog Walkers: Weekly Check-in April 4 2014
Audiobook Review: Fighting to Survive by Rhiannon Frater
Divider

8 Responses to “Audiobook Review: Siege by Rhiannon Frater”

  1. Jessica @ Rabid Reads
    Twitter:

    I can’t believe you found a series where all the books are 4.5+ ratings. Maybe . . . no promises, mind you b/c you know (you KNOW) I’m a chicken, but maybe the next time the hubs and I got road-trippin’ we could try this out. It sounds like something he’d like, and I can handle zombies and gore under the right circumstances . . . Ye gods, you’ve got me contemplating zombie books, LOL.

    • Felicia S

      This is very gritty so your hubby may love it (if he likes the Walking Dead, he will love this) but you may very well send me nasty thoughts as it scares the bejesus out of you 🙂

      You have been warned!

  2. Mary
    Twitter:

    Wow. That’s seriously high praise! I don’t know if I’ve seen you rate a book 5+ in forever! *runs to Amazon to purchase* Thanks. I’ll be immersing myself over the weekend. 🙂

    • Felicia S

      These are just gritty awesomeness. I think they are probably the best palette cleansers for romance. They take you out of that world and into more darkness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge