Review: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

Posted August 8, 2016 by Felicia S in 2016 Read, 3.50 Wine Glasses, Reviews / 8 Comments

Divider
Review: Baby Doll by Hollie OvertonSource: BEA16, Paperback Review Copy

Format: Paperback
Baby Doll by Hollie Overton


Date Read: June 2016

Genre: Mystery
Goodreads

For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, Baby Doll is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.
This is what happens next...

...to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter...and to her captor.

More Information:
Publisher: Redhook

My-Thoughts

Read for Review (BEA16 Publisher)
Overall Rating: 3.50
Story Rating: 3.75
Character Rating: 3.25

First Thought when Finished: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton was a great premise but it suffered a bit from uneven storytelling.

Quick Thoughts: There were parts of this book that were really well done. The beginning 1/3 really had my hooked. I really liked hitting the ground running and the immediate fall out. The problem is I think there were too many POVs and that made all the characters a little one-dimensional. I wanted more depth to the characters and the story in general. This book really should have been a tad bit longer. I understand why the author chose to go the multi-POV route but it just took me out of the story in the middle. There were just story points I did not care about: The Mom’s love life, Abby’s drama. I think this all lead to the end being a little rushed. Overall though I did enjoy the book. It was an easy and quick read that did a great job of not pulling punches in responses to the situation. That was really compelling because we all could only guess how we would react in the same situation.

Part of my Read It, Rate It, File It DONE Reviews

Recommended

FTC Disclosure

Overall Rating
3.5 / 5
Story Rating
3.5 / 5
Character Rating
3.5 / 5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Felicia S
Follow Me

Felicia S

Felicia is just your average gal from Texas that loves Audiobooks and Libraries with a passion! She can wine them, dine them, and love them forever. Her eclectic reading tastes include: Cozy Mysteries, Thrillers, Swoon-Worthy Romance of all kinds, Zombies, Urban Fantasy, Historical Fiction, and the occasional YA read.

During her non-reading time you can find her hanging with her rescue furr children named after book characters: Lizzie a beautiful cattle dog mix (Pound Pup), Cinder a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Pound Pup), and Minerva a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Foster Fail). Gathering with friends and family, attending conventions, watching movies/tv shows, rooting for the 49rs, and crocheting.

If you want to follow her DIY, Health, and Life adventures check out Mess to Best

My Google Profile
Felicia S
Follow Me

What are your thoughts?

8 responses to “Review: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

    • It wasn’t bad. Really it wasn’t. The beginning was fantastic. I read another book recently that was very similar and it had a better flow. I think this one would have flowed better if they would have let her have another 100 or so pages.