Mystery Review: The Yard by Alex Grecian (Outstanding)

May 26, 2012 2012 Read, 4.50 Wine Glasses 13


Goodreads
Author Website

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only twelve detectives—known as “The Murder Squad”—to investigate countless murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own . . . one of the twelve . . .When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad . . . but why?Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.

Read in May, 2012

Requested on Edelweiss
Overall Rating: 4.50
Story Rating: 4.25
Character Rating: 4.75

First thought when finished: What a bloody good mystery The Yard turned out to be! Highly Enjoyable!

What I Loved: Let me give you a list…

1: The time setting! Set right after Jack the Ripper when the London Police are still facing the fact that they failed in a very big case. This made the perfect setting for a really gritty mystery and a must solve attitude.

2: The realistic view of Police: Alex Grecian did his homework and I always love that! He knew that each department was created equal and that each served a purpose. His weaving of characters from each department, their working together, and attitude towards each other was very well done.

3:The Characters! My freaking favorite part of the story! Each character was multifaceted and the murder squad was just fascinating all together. I think each person added his own unique thoughts, work ethics, and personality into the mix. This was just fantastic.

I am not going to give anything away–seriously you need to read this book without any hints to what happens. I think you will figure out parts as you go along but the journey is what is fantastic.

What I Liked: What a great reminder that life itself was dangerous during this time. I think fans of the period will appreciate how true to the time that Alex Grecian tried to stay. He was descriptive of everything from forensics to daily things we take for granted. All of this added a rich layer of detail to the story and managed to make it more vivid!

Final Thought: Fans of Sherlock Holmes and similar settings will really enjoy The Yard! This is one that goes on my keeper shelf!

Follow Me

Felicia S

Felicia is just your average gal from Texas that loves Audiobooks and Libraries with a passion! She can wine them, dine them, and love them forever. Her eclectic reading tastes include: Cozy Mysteries, Thrillers, Swoon-Worthy Romance of all kinds, Zombies, Urban Fantasy, Historical Fiction, and the occasional YA read.

During her non-reading time you can find her hanging with her rescue furr children named after book characters: Tonks a beautiful Lab/Pyr mix (Farm Rescue), Lizzie a beautiful cattle dog mix (Pound Pup), and Cinder a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Pound Pup). Gathering with friends and family, attending conventions, watching movies/tv shows, rooting for the 49rs, and crocheting.

If you want to follow her DIY, Health, and Life adventures check out Mess to Best

My Google Profile
Follow Me

Latest posts by Felicia S (see all)

Audiobook Cozy Mystery Review: Her Royal Spyness (Her Royal Spyness Mysteries #1) by Rhys Bowen (Outstanding)
Audiobook Urban Fantasy Review: Red, White, and Blood by Christopher Farnsworth (Extraordinary)

13 Responses to “Mystery Review: The Yard by Alex Grecian (Outstanding)”

  1. Melissa (Books and Things)
    Twitter:

    Part of me wanted to read this and part didn’t. I’m not a huge fan of Jack the Ripper stories since they tend to be overdone, but this one sounds like a good one. Hm… I need to rethink this one.

  2. toothybooks

    this book sounds amazing! i love books with awesome characters so i’m going to have to add this one to my tbr. thanks for the great review!

  3. Jayla
    Twitter:

    I haven’t read any Sherlock Holmes, but I do love a good mystery. From your review I can only guess that this is going to be a REALLY good mystery! :-)

  4. blodeuedd

    Pretty sure that if I had lived back then then I would have been dead for quite a while already.

  5. Mary
    Twitter:

    Ooh, Sherlock Holmes and Scotland Yard…this sounds fabulous. I do like a bloody good mystery! Thanks for the review. :)