Book 79: The Surgeon by Tess Gerritsen: Rating 4 Wine Glasses

Posted August 13th, 2010 by in 2010 Read / 0 comments

Divider

From Authors Site: In her most masterful novel of medical suspense, New York Times bestselling author Tess Gerritsen creates a villain of unforgettable evil-and the one woman who can catch him before he kills again.


He slips into their homes at night and walks silently into bedrooms where women lie sleeping, unaware of the horrors they soon will endure. The precision of the killer’s methods suggests he is a deranged man of medicine, propelling the Boston newspapers and the frightened public to name him “The Surgeon.”


The cops’ only clue rests with another surgeon, the victim of a nearly identical crime. Two years ago, Dr. Catherine Cordell fought back and killed her attacker before he could complete his assault. Now she hides her fears of intimacy behind a cool and elegant exterior and well-earned reputation as a top trauma surgeon.


Cordell’s careful façade is about to crack as this new killer re-creates, with chilling accuracy, the details of Cordell’s own ordeal. With every new murder he seems to be taunting her, cutting ever closer, from her hospital to her home. Her only comfort comes from Thomas Moore, the detective assigned to the case. But even Moore cannot protect Cordell from a brilliant hunter who somehow understands-and savors-the secret fears of every woman he kills.


Filled with the authentic detail that is the trademark of this doctor turned author, and peopled with rich and complex characters-from the ER to the squad room to the city morgue-here is a thriller of unprecedented depth and suspense. Exposing the shocking link between those who kill and cure, punish and protect, The Surgeon is Tess Gerritsen’s most exciting accomplishment yet.



Publisher: Ballantine Books
Purchased: Audible.Com

What I Loved:  This was a very good thriller!  I was pretty much on my toes the whole time waiting to see how it was all going to play out.  The end was chilling and you can see where the next book is going to pick up.  I also appreciated the small abbreviated introductions of characters.  It will allow them to grow over the series.

What I Liked:  Tess didn’t make her leads without faults, they seemed very real to me.  The story had a great pace and enjoyed all the twists and turns.

Complaints: Not long enough but I always feel that way when the story is really good 🙂

Any Audiobook specific thoughts:  The narrator was sufficiently creepy.  I thought it was very well done and I was a little scared knowing it was going to be read by a man.

Why I gave it a 4:  It hooked me from beginning to end.  I will be listening to the rest of the series.

Who I would recommend it too:  Fans of Mysteries and Thrillers.  I don’t think you will be disappointed.

Author Website:  http://www.tessgerritsen.com/

Felicia S
Follow Me

Felicia S

Felicia is just your average gal from Texas that loves Audiobooks and Libraries with a passion! She can wine them, dine them, and love them forever. Her eclectic reading tastes include: Cozy Mysteries, Thrillers, Swoon-Worthy Romance of all kinds, Zombies, Urban Fantasy, Historical Fiction, and the occasional YA read.

During her non-reading time you can find her hanging with her rescue furr children named after book characters: Lizzie a beautiful cattle dog mix (Pound Pup), Cinder a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Pound Pup), and Minerva a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Foster Fail). Gathering with friends and family, attending conventions, watching movies/tv shows, rooting for the 49rs, and crocheting.

If you want to follow her DIY, Health, and Life adventures check out Mess to Best

My Google Profile
Felicia S
Follow Me
Book 80: Blood Oath by Christopher Farnsworth (Rating 5 Wine Glasses)
Book 78: Wait Till Your Vampire Gets Home by Michele Bardsley
Divider

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge