Book 76: Angels, Vampires and Douchebags by Carla Collins: Rating 4 Wine Glasses

Posted August 5th, 2010 by in 2010 Read / 0 comments

Divider

About: In this candid confessional, comedian Carla Collins divides the world into the angels who guide us, inspire us, and save our butts; the sexy and trendy vampires who suck the life out of us; and the douche bags who constantly annoy, disgust and taunt us. With a fast wit, fake breasts and real heart, Collins shares her unconventional journey from a small steel town in Ontario, Canada to Tinseltown L.A. On this wild and revealing romp, she navigates her way through seventy-two imaginary friends, multiple fiancés, eight dogs, two marriages, and one topless grandmother. Her hard-earned life lessons will show you that by taking risks, embracing humiliation and tapping into the power of laughter, anything is possible–and everyone is manageable. Attract more angels into your life, control your vampires, and keep all the douchebags at bay. Angels, Vampires and Douche Bags is original, edgy, uplifting and laugh-out-loud funny.

What I LOVED:  I had (still don’t) who Carla Collins is but she is freaking hilarious!  This was a book about life and with her witty spin, I was laughing out loud while listening to it. She narrated her own book and you could tell she was making herself giggle at times.

What I LIKED:  She talked about real things and gave real examples under each of the categories she talked about.  She reads at a really good speed–I know this seems like something odd to mention but really the speed worked really well for the book.  I also like that she blames Speidi for all the worlds problems 🙂 (Totally Agree LOL)

Complaints:  To short but hey that is just because I was completely entertained.

Why I gave it a 4:  I laughed so much I was almost crying at parts.  Carla is funny, down to earth, and really knows how to deliver a story. A not to miss autobiography in my book.

Who I would recommend it too:  Fans of Chelsea Handler or Jen Lancaster should enjoy this one 🙂

Received from: bought from audible
Author’s website: http://www.carlacollins.com

Felicia S
Follow Me

Felicia S

Felicia is just your average gal from Texas that loves Audiobooks and Libraries with a passion! She can wine them, dine them, and love them forever. Her eclectic reading tastes include: Cozy Mysteries, Thrillers, Swoon-Worthy Romance of all kinds, Zombies, Urban Fantasy, Historical Fiction, and the occasional YA read.

During her non-reading time you can find her hanging with her rescue furr children named after book characters: Lizzie a beautiful cattle dog mix (Pound Pup), Cinder a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Pound Pup), and Minerva a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Foster Fail). Gathering with friends and family, attending conventions, watching movies/tv shows, rooting for the 49rs, and crocheting.

If you want to follow her DIY, Health, and Life adventures check out Mess to Best

My Google Profile
Felicia S
Follow Me
Book 77: Because Your Vampire Said So by Michele Bardsley: Rating 3 Wine Glasses
Book 75: Don't Talk Back To Your Vampire by Michele Bardsley: Rating 4 Wine Glasses
Divider

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge