Armchair Audie Review: My Life As a White Trash Zombie by Diana Rowland

Posted March 11th, 2013 by in 2013 Read, 5 Wine Glasses, Audiobook, Reviews / 13 comments

Divider
Armchair Audie Review: My Life As a White Trash Zombie by Diana RowlandFormat: Audiobook
My Life As a White Trash Zombie by Diana Rowland
Narrator: Allison McLemore


Date Read: July 5th 2011

Goodreads

Angel Crawford is a loser

Living with her alcoholic deadbeat dad in the swamps of southern Louisiana, she's a high school dropout with a pill habit and a criminal record who's been fired from more crap jobs than she can count. Now on probation for a felony, it seems that Angel will never pull herself out of the downward spiral her life has taken.

That is, until the day she wakes up in the ER after overdosing on painkillers. Angel remembers being in an horrible car crash, but she doesn't have a mark on her. To add to the weirdness, she receives an anonymous letter telling her there's a job waiting for her at the parish morgue—and that it's an offer she doesn't dare refuse.

Before she knows it she's dealing with a huge crush on a certain hunky deputy and a brand new addiction: an overpowering craving for brains. Plus, her morgue is filling up with the victims of a serial killer who decapitates his prey—just when she's hungriest!

Angel's going to have to grow up fast if she wants to keep this job and stay in one piece. Because if she doesn't, she's dead meat.

Literally.

More Information:
Series: White Trash Zombie #1


Also by this author: White Trash Zombie Apocalypse, Mark of the Demon, How the White Trash Zombie Got Her Groove Back, White Trash Zombie Gone Wild
Also in this series: How the White Trash Zombie Got Her Groove Back, White Trash Zombie Gone Wild

My Thoughts

authorGoodreadsLibrary Thing

Read for Fun (Kindle)/Listened for Armchair Audies(Audible)
Overall Rating: 4.5 (August 2011)/5.0 (March 2013 ReRead)
Character Rating: 4.5 (August 2011)/5.0 (March 2013 ReRead)
Story Rating: 4.5 (August 2011)/5.0 (March 2013 ReRead)
Ending: 5++++ (Loved it)

Audio Rating: 4.5 (Not Part of the overall Rating)(March 2013)

Updated Review March 2013

I actually pretty much agree with my original thoughts. Though I loved this story even more on the reread. There is just something fantastically magical about Angel and her journey that shines even more on the reread.

I did the reread for Armchair Audies! I originally read this story so I wasn’t sure what I would think listening to it on audio. However……

Audio Review

Narrated by Allison McLemore / LENGTH 8 hrs and 44 mins

Freaking Awesome Y’all! Seriously Allison knocked it out of the park. It wasn’t quite what I pictured Angel sounding like but I think it was better than I imagined. Plus, you know all those laugh out loud moments? They were made better by the narration! I think the only drawback was a few of the other characters took a bit to get used too. That was fine because overall this was one wicked fun audio. Now I am going to be on the fence about whether to read or listen to the third one (I have already read the 2nd). Decisions! Decisions!

Why I gave it a 5.0 on the ReRead:  I think it is because I know Angel better now that I have read books 1 and 2.  I can say that knowing what Angel has been through made me appreciate her initial turning more.  Plus, I still melted into goo with that last exchange between her and her father.  I just loved it!

Original Review August 2011

NOTE: I am going to forgo my normal review and divide this one down a little different. This was a fantastic Zombie read that I would recommend to anyone.

Mystery: Yes Y’all, My Life as a White Trash Zombie has a little mystery in it. Take it from a person who reads Mysteries/Thrillers that this one was really well done. I honestly didn’t figure it out until she did. Also, the secondary mystery of who turned her was fantastically done also. The whole darn thing was just so well planned out.

Zombies: Gotta love them! I mean these aren’t the typical rotting zombies and I liked it. Lets just say that Zombies are monsters with sometimes mushy hearts (that was a semi-quote from the book). Oh but don’t worry there are still BRAAAAAAAAAAAIIIIIINNNNNNNNS involved.

Characters: I think most of the characters in this story were so well flushed out that you felt like part of the world. Made for a very enjoyable reading experience.

Why I gave it a 4.5: It was Zombie-rrific and a very good summer read!

take controlarmchairaudiesSeriouslySeries02

TBR Tipping

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Felicia S
Follow Me

Felicia S

Felicia is just your average gal from Texas that loves Audiobooks and Libraries with a passion! She can wine them, dine them, and love them forever. Her eclectic reading tastes include: Cozy Mysteries, Thrillers, Swoon-Worthy Romance of all kinds, Zombies, Urban Fantasy, Historical Fiction, and the occasional YA read.

During her non-reading time you can find her hanging with her rescue furr children named after book characters: Lizzie a beautiful cattle dog mix (Pound Pup), Cinder a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Pound Pup), and Minerva a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Foster Fail). Gathering with friends and family, attending conventions, watching movies/tv shows, rooting for the 49rs, and crocheting.

If you want to follow her DIY, Health, and Life adventures check out Mess to Best

My Google Profile
Felicia S
Follow Me
ReRead Review: Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris (Spoilers Included) #SeriouslySeries
Speed Date Audiobook Review: Scandalous by Karen Robards #TakeControl #TBRTipping
Divider

13 Responses to “Armchair Audie Review: My Life As a White Trash Zombie by Diana Rowland”

  1. Karen
    Twitter:

    I have no idea why….but I’ve been reading this book for almost a year now! I’m enjoying it but I set it aside and then a month passes. I love how different it is from the norm though.

    My goal is to finish it in 2013! Ha

  2. Heidi

    gosh I loved this book as well. It was so funny and unexpected with the mystery and the whole zombie angle. I am disgusted with myself for not having read the second book yet. I am trying to work it in this month for the TBR challenge. I love the cover for book three, can’t wait!

  3. Book Savvy Babe
    Twitter:

    I have this one in my audible library… I grabbed it on one of the sales, but I have to admit, I’m not the biggest zombie fan, so I’m a little worried. I guess that since you enjoyed it, I figure I will like it too. I’m listening to Acheron next, then I’ll give this one a try… Book Savvy Babe

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge