Adventures in Fiction 2014 Recap

Posted March 6th, 2014 by in Conferences / 19 comments

Divider

Adventures in Fiction 2

Adventures in Fiction 2014 Recap

On Feb 15, 2014 I attended the one day event Adventures in Fiction 2014. I had a blast hanging with friends, rubbing elbows with authors, and dancing the night away at the masquerade ball! It was a fantastic day and it is already on my agenda for next year.

How my day started: Started tweeting with friends who were driving in from down south. I was super excited to see them. CONFESSION: As excited as I am to hang out with authors, it is always my reading friends (old and new) that make going to these events FUN!

Arrive at the event: Got registered, said hello to my friends, and anxiously awaited the doors to open! It was kind of like that shopping commercial where the shoppers are going “open, open, open”!

Get in the doors: Let the fun begin!!!

Adventures in Fiction 5

There was Jill Shalvis (http://jillshalvis.com/)! Seriously I think I made a complete fool of myself but that is OK! I got Rescue My Heart and Rumor Has It signed. She didn’t even make fun of the fact that the books are well read (so take that non-book benders JK)! She was super delightful!

Adventures in Fiction 6

There was Nikki Duncan (http://nikkiduncan.com/)! Now hear this: You have to meet Nikki if you ever get a chance. On top of being a wonderful author, she is crafty y’all! You should see her shoes that she made from her book covers. She is the bomb diggity!

Adventures in Fiction 7

There was Connie Cox (http://www.conniecox.com/)! I adore me some Connie! I consider her a friend as well as a rock star author. We chatted over everything and danced like the crazy women that we are πŸ™‚

Adventures in Fiction 8

There was Liliana Hart (http://www.lilianahart.com/)! I squee anytime I meet her. Her Whiskey series is one of my favorite in audio (even though I have to wait for them for months after they release in kindle). She is just wonderful! Plus I finally scored a My Book Boyfriend bumper sticker! I have been wanting one FOREVER!

Adventures in Fiction 9

There was Heather Long (http://www.heatherlong.net/)! Heather had such a busy Feb and still managed to be just Rock Star Awesome! She signed a Haunted Me Notebook and then Always a Marine for me! Seriously y’all Always a Marine is one of my favorite Top Off Tuesday covers EVER!

I also met and got things signed by Jade Lee (http://jadeleeauthor.com/) *Power to the Smiley Squidgee*, Rachel Caine (http://www.rachelcaine.com/), Julia Justiss (http://www.juliajustiss.com/) *she gave me a wonderful list of historical romance authors to give a whirl–early american version*, Emily McKay (http://emilymckay.com/) *delightful as always–love her*, Shana Galen (http://www.shanagalen.com/), Lorraine Heath (http://www.lorraineheath.com/) *one of my favorite people on the planet*, and cozy mystery writer Wendy Lyn Watson/Annie Knox (http://annieknoxauthor.com/).

Dog Tag Shout OUT! These are now my favorite kind of swag!

Special thanks to Donna Grant and Emily McKay for furthering my dog tag collection! You ladies ROCK!

The Night: Enter the ball and have fun w/friends!

Adventures in Fiction 1

Cake happened and it was AWESOME!

Adventures in Fiction 3

Adventures in Fiction 4

Adventures in Fiction 10

Friends Happened! You know that was my favorite part of the night! Hanging with my friends and getting my booty shaking!

Final Thoughts: I had a delightful time and can’t wait till next year!

Next Event for me: Desserts with Joanna Fluke on 3/6/14 and then Tea with Julia London on 3/15/14

Felicia S
Follow Me

Felicia S

Felicia is just your average gal from Texas that loves Audiobooks and Libraries with a passion! She can wine them, dine them, and love them forever. Her eclectic reading tastes include: Cozy Mysteries, Thrillers, Swoon-Worthy Romance of all kinds, Zombies, Urban Fantasy, Historical Fiction, and the occasional YA read.

During her non-reading time you can find her hanging with her rescue furr children named after book characters: Lizzie a beautiful cattle dog mix (Pound Pup), Cinder a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Pound Pup), and Minerva a beautiful Shep/Pitt mix (Foster Fail). Gathering with friends and family, attending conventions, watching movies/tv shows, rooting for the 49rs, and crocheting.

If you want to follow her DIY, Health, and Life adventures check out Mess to Best

My Google Profile
Felicia S
Follow Me
Book Blog Walkers: Weekly Check-in March 7 2014
Review: Tycoon Reunion by Candace Havens and Shannon Leigh
Divider

19 Responses to “Adventures in Fiction 2014 Recap”

  1. Sara Reyes
    Twitter:

    You were so BEAUTIFUL in the dress and as always it’s wonderful to see you! Great pictures and I agree, meeting up with readers is always SO MUCH FUN!!!

    ah, authors are fun too! LOL

    Sara

  2. Lucy
    Twitter:

    I remember you tweeting about this event, and I’m happy to hear more about it! Great photos too! So cool meeting favorite authors and friends at these events.

    I’ve never received dog tag book swag, but I think that’s a fab idea!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge